What’s it like to eat plant based? ðŸŒ±

I recently moved into my own apartment here in New York City. Out of all the amazing amenities the building has to offer, my favorite would be my spacious kitchen. Its filled with great appliances and has more than enough space to actually cook!! So, it’s safe to say I’ve been on a cooking binge lately! Because I’ve had such a great response to the pictures and videos I’ve posted on my social media, I wanted to share my recipes with you!

Almost three weeks ago I started a plant-based diet meaning I can eat grains, legumes, plants, fruits and A LOT of veggies 🌱 with minimal animal product intake. Initially, I thought that it would be hard and I’d lose focus quickly but come to find out it’s really not that bad! I’ve actually come to love it and the effects it has on my body. It might be called a “diet” but it’s not really a diet, it’s a new way for me to live healthier. I’m not trying to shed the pounds, I’m trying to be more conscious of what I am putting into my body. With that being said, here are two of my favorite meals I’ve made the past couple of days!

First up: Truffle summer squash with roasted mini potatoes and a side of cabbage/kale 

Ingredients (all organic)

  • 1 Summer squash 
  • Handful of mini potatoes 
  • 1/2 bunch of kale 
  • 1/4 head of cabbage 
  • 2 garlic cloves 
  • 1 small white onion 
  • 1 teaspoon of truffle oil
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon of sea salt and pepper mixed

Recipe 

  1. Pre heat oven to 375. 
  2. Wash all vegetables and allow time to dry. 
  3. Cut summer squash in half and remove guts/seeds. 
  4. Cut mini potatoes in half or size you prefer.  
  5. Brush the truffle oil onto the inside of the summer squash, season with sea salt pepper mix and place face down on baking tray. 
  6. Place potatoes into a small bowl and mix in the coconut oil allowing all of them to be covered. Place onto baking sheet and sprinkle on sea salt pepper mix. 
  7. Place baking sheet into the oven for 40 minutes. 
  8. While the summer squash and potatoes are cooking in the oven, cut your cabbage and onions into bit sized pieces. 
  9. Heat your pan and throw in the garlic and coconut oil. 
  10. Place cabbage and onions into the pan (lid on) and allow them to cook while stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn. 
  11. Cook cabbage until tender then turn off the stove, with the pan lid still on allowing it to steam until everything is ready. 
  12. After 40 minutes is up check on the potatoes and summer squash by poking a fork into the skin. If it goes through its cooked, if not allow it to cook for a little longer. 
  13. Plate it up and enjoy!


Second up: homemade vegetable soup 


Ingredients (all organic) 

  • 2 boxes of vegetable broth from Whole Foods 
  • Handful of mini potatoes 
  • 4 big carrots 
  • 5 big pieces of celery 
  • 1/2 head of cabbage 
  • 1 can of white beans 
  • 1 package of baby Bella mushrooms
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1 table-spoon of coconut oil 
  • 1 tablespoon of sea salt and pepper mixed 
  • 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes 
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic powder 

Recipe

  1. Wash all vegetables. 
  2. Cut all vegetables into bite sized pieces. 
  3. Heat pot and throw in coconut oil and garlic. 
  4. After that cooks for a minute or so, put in both containers of vegetable broth. 
  5. Once all vegetables are cut, place them all into the pot.
  6. Add in the dry seasonings.  
  7. Place on simmer and allow it to cook for 40 minutes with the lid on. 
  8. Stir occasionally. 
  9. After 40 minutes all vegetables should be cooked and it’s ready to plate up. 
  10. Eat and enjoy! 

This recipe is super easy and makes A LOT. If you’re a soup lover, make the whole batch and reheat when necessary. If you’re not feeling that soupy, cut the recipe in half! The good thing about soup is you can place in the freezer and reheat it whenever you’re in the mood! This ones super healthy and great for the winter months ahead! 

I’m excited to see what I cook up next and I can’t wait to share the recipes with you guys, stay tuned! 


XX- The SB

2 thoughts on “What’s it like to eat plant based? ðŸŒ±

Leave a comment